CSCI 323 - Linux - Installation, Configuration, and Programming

Tobin Maginnis, Instructor

Academic Calendar, Fall 2014
Date(s) Day(s) Event(s)
August 29 Friday Students may add courses on a space available basis through this date.
September 1 Monday LABOR DAY HOLIDAY (Administrative Offices closed.)
September 8 Monday Last day to register or add classes (between August 30 and September 8 may add only with instructor’s approval.) Refund period ends.
September 9 Tuesday $10 fee assessed per drop or add
September 26 Friday Last day to submit applications for December diplomas
October 6 Monday Deadline for course withdrawals (no refund; refund period ended September 8)
October 13 Monday Midterm grades due
Oct 20 - Nov 3 Mon-Mon Academic Advising (for winter session and spring)
Oct 27 - Nov 10 Mon-Mon Priority Registration (for winter session and spring)
Oct 27 - Nov 30 Mon-Sun Phase 1 registration period (for winter session and spring)
November 24-28 Mon-Fri THANKSGIVING HOLIDAYS (Administrative Offices closed Thursday and Friday)
December 1 Monday Classes resume at 8:00 a.m.
December 5 Friday Classes end
December 8-12 Mon-Fri Final Examination, Tuesday, Dec. 9, 8:00AM
sudo mount -o loop -t iso9660 $SELECTED_FILE_PATHS /media/$NAME
Example Shell Commands

Introduction to bash
Advanced bash
Bash by Example, part 1
Bash by Example, part 2
GNU bash
GNU bash reference manual
Show the parent executing this script
Show 50 random numbers
List the largest "n" files in the current directory
Syntax for bash loops that count to 5
Show file properties
Demonstrate file globbing
Show which file has more lines
Demonstrate functions, loops, and file input
Show return values from a function
Show the difference between returned value and it local copy

  • Installing and Configuring System Software in Linux
    1. Introduction to Linux
    2. Common Linux (Unix) Commands and Concepts
    3. Linux File System
    4. Text Editors and Tex Processing
    5. Routine System Administration
    6. Networking
    7. Linux IP Multicast
    8. X Window System
    9. Hitch Hiker's X Window System Guide